PDA

View Full Version : Working out

BBSven
03-24-2011, 05:21 PM
Hi All,

I'm a beginner (also) at working out as a recreational activity besides studying, working and playing poker :)

I have my membership at my local gym but I don't exactly know how to do it smartly. I want to put on some weight (i.e. muscles of course :)) but I'm reluctant to use any sports nutrition. I tried to search for exercise plans to help me achieve this, but most rely heavily on such stuff.

Any suggestions? Any ideas would be much appreciated :)

Thx,

BB

tob1n
03-24-2011, 05:35 PM
Hi there,

well, it depends on what you want to do. if you want to grow muscle, you'll have to eat shitloads of protein. if you don't want to take supplements, that's fine, but you'll have to change your diet. if you're lean and not prone to getting fat like me, this is a must. then, you'll need a decent workout regime. (gotta go now, will be back with more if you're interested)

BBSven
03-26-2011, 11:53 PM
Sure as hell I'm interested :) Thanks in advance, I appreciate it! :)

tob1n
03-29-2011, 01:18 PM
ok so here we go:)

First you must eat tons of protein as i said, try to go with low-fat meats like turkey and chicken. fish is also great, and add vegetable to the mix. If you like eggs, you can start your day with boiled eggs/omelette. THEN, you should work out. At first I'd suggest you work out 3 times a week, but if you feel like it, you can go on weekends as well.

if you have a gym membership, that's great, you have lots of opportunities. first of all, you will need resistance training to get your muscles growing. the best way to achieve this, is to do few reps with big weights SLOWLY to do the most damage to your muscles (muscle grows when it repairs damage such as micro-tears in the fiber). Remember, you NEED the resting days, this is when your muscle actually grows. You have to supply this growth with protein.